After July 1, 2009, it became illegal to act as a Foreclosure Consultant in the State of California unless you registered first with the Attorney General.
In addition to the $850 filing fee and the application and a copy of the contract you will use with your clients, you must be bonded at a minimum of $100,000.00 and register that bond with the California Secretary of State.
What is a "foreclosure consultant" as defined by California Law?
(California Civil Code 2945.1, "Mortgage Foreclosure Consultant Law")
The following definitions apply to this chapter:
(a) "Foreclosure consultant" means any person who makes any
solicitation, representation, or offer to any owner to perform for
compensation or who, for compensation, performs any service which the
person in any manner represents will in any manner do any of the
(1) Stop or postpone the foreclosure sale.
(2) Obtain any forbearance from any beneficiary or mortgagee.
(3) Assist the owner to exercise the right of reinstatement
provided in Section 2924c.
(4) Obtain any extension of the period within which the owner may
reinstate his or her obligation.
(5) Obtain any waiver of an acceleration clause contained in any
promissory note or contract secured by a deed of trust or mortgage on
a residence in foreclosure or contained that deed of trust or
(6) Assist the owner to obtain a loan or advance of funds.
(7) Avoid or ameliorate the impairment of the owner's credit
resulting from the recording of a notice of default or the conduct of
a foreclosure sale.
(8) Save the owner's residence from foreclosure.
(9) Assist the owner in obtaining from the beneficiary, mortgagee,
trustee under a power of sale, or counsel for the beneficiary,
mortgagee, or trustee, the remaining proceeds from the foreclosure
sale of the owner's residence.